Below is a tentative schedule for the conference. The full schedule along with presentation assignments will be given in early October.


Saturday, October 27

 Time  Event  Location
8:00-9:00 am  Check-in  NHB 2nd Floor West 
9:00-9:15 am  Opening Remarks
[Tim Killeen, UIUC President]
 NHB Auditorium
9:15-10:30 am Oral Session I:
Applications of Remote Sensing
NHB Auditorium
10:30-11:00 am Coffee Break  NHB 2nd Floor West 
11:00am-12:00 pm Oral Session II:
Cloud Microphysics & Chemistry
NHB Auditorium
12:00-1:30 pm Lunch Break (on your own)

1:30-2:30 pm Oral Session III:
Energy, Environment & Society
NHB Auditorium
2:30-3:45 pm Poster Session
Optional NHB Tours
NHB Commons
4:00-5:30 pm Open Forum
Co-led by Keynote Spekers
(Weather & Climate Processes) 
NHB Auditorium
5:30-6:30 pm Break  
6:30-8:30 pm Keynote Dinner Illini Union Ballroom

Sunday, October 28

 Time  Event  Location
7:30-8:30 am  Check-in  NHB 2nd Floor West 
8:30-9:30 am Oral Session IV:
Variability & Predictability in
the Earth System
NHB Auditorium
9:30-10:00 am Coffee Break  NHB 2nd Floor West 
10:00-11:15 am Oral Session V: Data Science
& Visualization
NHB Auditorium
11:30am-1:00 pm Keynote Lunch
Illini Union Ballroom 
1:00-1:15 pm Closing Remarks Illini Union Ballroom



Opening Remarks


Roger Wakimoto


Timothy L. Killeen

Prof. Timothy L. Killeen is the current president of the University of Illinois system. He has more than three decades of experience as an educator, researcher, and administrator in public higher education and in leadership positions with national scientific research agencies. Before joining the U of I system, he served as vice chancellor for research and president of research foundation at the State University of New York (SUNY). Earlier, he served as an assistant director for the geosciences at the National Science Foundation (NSF), as the Lyall Research Professor at the University of Colorado and as director and senior scientist for the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR). He has also served as a faculty member and researcher at the University of Michigan where he served as associated vice president for research.

He has also served as President of the American Geophysical Union and has been a fellow of American Meteorological Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He has authored more than 150 publications in peer-reviewed journals, along with more than 300 other publications and papers. A leading researcher in geophysics and space sciences, Killeen received his bachelor’s degree and Ph.D. at University College London, where he earned his doctoral degree in atomic and molecular physics at the age of 23.

Keynote Speakers


Roger Wakimoto


Roger Wakimoto

As President of the American Meteorological Society (AMS) and Vice Chancellor for research at the University of California, Los Angeles, Dr. Roger Wakimoto specializes in research on mesoscale meteorology, particularly regarding severe convective storms and radar meteorology. He has written or co-authored numerous peer-reviewed papers and has published over 100 journal articles throughout his career. 
Dr. Wakimoto has served on various committees for organizations including the National Science Foundation, the National Academy of Sciences, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and the AMS. He has received several awards and honors including one from the Environmental Protection Agency for his research on air pollution and another from the AMS for his contributions to understanding mesoscale weather events.


Susan van den Heever

Susan van den Heever

Currently Colorado State University’s (CSU) Monfort Professor of Atmospheric Science, the school’s most prestigious award for mid-career faculty and Associate Department Head, Dr. Susan van den Heever's research is focused on cloud processes, specifically the microphysical and dynamical characteristics of deep convective cloud systems, aerosol-cloud feedbacks and the representation of these processes in numerical models.

Along with publishing over 60 academic journal articles and co-authoring the book Storm and Cloud Dynamics, Professor van den Heever is also involved in a number of department and research community activities. Dr. van den Heever won the George T. Abell Outstanding Early Career Faculty Award in 2012 and the AGU ASCENT award in 2016. In addition to receiving the Graduate Student Council Award for Graduate Student Advising and Mentorship, Prof. van den Heever was recently awarded the AMS Edward N. Lorenz Teaching Excellence Award.